and then they made me their chief.

Watching the playoffs I have heard the grumbles of the Blackhawks using Chelsea Dagger as their goal song. It’s a really good track but as a goal celebration it just seems a bit odd. I know some teams like to keep it fresh and switch it up, but for the most part I think if the right song is picked it should never change. And it can’t be something annoying. Whenever someone complains that the Habs are bit too noisy and irritating with their horn, I wonder if they know how I roll in Spokane;

That’s the Italian Tarantella. It’s a bit loud and such. And if the Chiefs decided to change it up, I’d probably cry. Fans would riot and revolt because it’s just part of the Chiefs tradition. Teams constantly changing or sprucing up the goal songs just make me think of those Real Housewives addicted to plastic surgery and getting Botox shot into their face. There is a desperation to appearing youthful and hip. Why not keep the song and let it age with the team. In this day and of rental players and blockbuster moves, the only constant seems to be the goal song. I am scared the minute I buy a jersey, a player will be traded. For a lot of fans the goal song feels like home. There are some songs that people are insane for. Uhm, Brass Bonanza anyone?

Also just because this is another reason why I love junior hockey; The Teddy Bear Toss! I’d love to see the NHL do this. Let’s see how many bears we can get donated to area children’s hospitals.

Mikeeeee Reddington assisted by LEVKOOOOOOO KOPERRRRRRR.

About wrap around curl
Hi I'm Heather. Call me WAC. Everyone else does.

14 Responses to and then they made me their chief.

  1. Grrrreg says:

    I completely agree with that. I didn’t know about the Tarantella, but I find it funny and nice, especially if it has been going on for some time now. It’s the kind of things that make you feel at home at the arena: you just know it’s something you won’t find anywhere else. It’s a little quirky, but it’s great.

    I think the Blues playing ‘When the saints go marching in” with the organ after they score is the coolest thing ever. And many many many habs fans are still complaining that the cool goal song they used to play before the lockout was replaced with U2, and now Simple Plan. (Ugh, and Super-Ugh)

    • I think the quirk is what makes it work.

      I have never heard a Blues goal celebration. Off to the Googles!

      Simple Plan, really? Gross.

      • Turd Ferguson says:

        I’d honestly have to say that the worst goal-song right now is the Red Wings–2 Unlimited, it’s like they’re stuck permanently in 1993.

        I enjoy that my Blues have stuck to tradition (although for a bit they did a rock version of “Saints Go Marching In” that most people hated), in the process seeming understated and classy against teams like Carolina and their ten million sound effects after goals.

  2. Praveen says:

    The Chelsea Dagger song rules. I think it gives the arena a nice atmosphere and pumps up the crowd in a nice way. It is also used a lot in some of those soccer league games in Europe.

    • It’s a good song. But it’s common. Why not strive to be different.

      • Praveen says:

        It’s not that common in the US. Though I can see it become a Rock N Roll Part 2 if more people watch Blackhawks or Orioles games. I hope it doesnt become that widespread here.

  3. I think the Tarantella is the perfect fit for the ‘Chiefs’… who give away ‘chalupas’… and ‘Arby’s’… and ‘IHOP’. It’s what makes this organization so deliciously odd and awesome all at the same time. If they ever changed the goal song I would revolt. It’s so perfect. The NHL should take note of this clap-inducing sycronatic tradition. yeah I made up a word. It engages the entire arena. I assume it rather impressive to see on the ice too. Watching these goals makes me wanna stand up and yell “CHIEFS!” and clap outta sync…*tear*

    EVERYONE should do a Teddy Bear toss. It’s for a great cause, gets everyone involved and adds for a great environment that game. Plus it provides for a great opportunity to hit those drunk people who are annoying as hell… not that I’ve ever done that. Promise.

  4. Doogie2K says:

    You’ve just given me an excuse to post my video from this past year’s Calgary Hitmen Teddy Bear Toss. Nearly 23,000 bears. Great times.

    We had “Elevation” by U2 our first year as season-ticket holders (2006-07), but then they changed it to “Rollin'” by Limp Bizkit, which I have no time for. I heard “Rollin'” a hell of a lot this year, needless to say.

  5. AmyB says:

    I didn’t know about Tarantella, but its kind of amazing. And by “kind of”, I mean “incredibly”. I love the Teddy toss.

  6. loser domi says:

    at least Chelsea Dagger isn’t Zombie Nation

  7. leafer1984 says:

    OMG they play the tarantella??? I need to go to spokane ASAP! That is freakin awesome!

Leave a comment