Your TV Guide and Open Thread For Night 24 of the 2009 Stanley Cup Playoffs

This will appear every night to inform you of the TV networks and announcers that will be covering the games during the playoffs.  Enjoy all the local and national info, after the jump.

Read more of this post

great moments in cinema;

I think this is one of the most realistic hockey scenes in a movie. Or even a realistic movie scene in general. As a sorta gamer, I’ve been there. When I lived in a dorm a friend of mine often skipped class and could be found playing Halo in his too small dorm room he shared with a roommate who quite possibly only showered once per week. His roommate sat in the tiny corner by the window on some ancient computer playing World of Warcraft. I’d come to the dorm with my own Xbox controller that I put sparkly gems on and a liter of Dr Pepper because I was in it to win it. The door was often left open because it was those kind of dorm floors. One dude upon seeing me playing Halo and screaming obscenities and wearing a Penny Arcade shirt got down on one knee and proposed to me on the spot with his class ring.

I remember the boys arguing about who was going downstairs to meet the pizza guy. I never had to worry about this argument because I was the one girl there and they paid for my cheesy bread. Which in retrospect was fucking terrible. But I am never one to complain about free eats. I had quite the Halo Rage. Though it wasn’t as bad as my friend who was about 5’8 and a buck forty soaking wet. He broke numerous controllers and snapped 2 of 6 legs off a rolling office chair. He was the only one who sat in it because he knew how to balance in it just right. He also kept a wiffle ball bat in the closet in case a person ever wanted to smack the walls because they were made of brick. I learned to not punch the walls but pillows instead. And it’s best to slam my controller into the bed which served as a couch and not the floor. Also, just because something is wireless doesn’t mean it needs to be thrown.

And the Plasma Swords are still my favorite.

Pens to Start 24/7 Radio Network

From the Pens:

The Pittsburgh Penguins will launch a new HD radio channel in September, devoted specifically to the Penguins, the NHL and other hockey-related programming.
 
“Pittsburgh Penguins Radio” will be a joint effort with 105.9 The X (WXDX-FM), the team’s radio rightsholder, and will be heard on 105.9 HD-2 and pittsburghpenguins.com, beginning with training camp coverage in September.
 
The Penguins are the first team in professional sports to announce the creation of a channel that may be heard 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
 
“The Penguins always are looking for new ways to deliver unique content to the greatest fans in hockey, and we’re excited now to be the first team to venture into the world of 24/7 HD radio,” said Dave Soltesz, the Penguins’ senior vice president of corporate sales. 

Some highlights include Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins games, a live daily show, classic Pens moments, and other great stuff.  Would you love to see your own team do this?