NBC in Raleigh Dumps Winter Classic Pre-Game

NBC has pre-game “coverage” of the Winter Classic from 1-3 p.m. ET after the time change. Though they are merely showing the NBC Sports retrospective that’s been airing on VERSUS the past few days, at least one station is not carrying it.

WNCN, NBC17 in Raleigh has dumped the pre-game coverage for re-runs of Judge Judy and Ellen. I know there are a lot of readers in Canes territory, so if you want to contact the station, do so at 919-835-6364. The General Manager of the station, Brad Moses, can be reached via email at bmoses@wncn.com.

If you know of any other stations in NHL markets not carrying the pre-game coverage, please contact me.

About Steve Lepore
Contact me at stevemlepore@gmail.com

7 Responses to NBC in Raleigh Dumps Winter Classic Pre-Game

  1. dyhrdmet says:

    it’s a shame, but it was mostly NBC Sports promotion (which in itself, I’d rather watch than Judge Judy and Ellen).

    seeing your tweets about the other markets in which the game is being preempted for football press conferences, I think that’s a shame too (I wonder if those ABC affiliates are cutting away from the Bowl game to show it), but it’s completely foreign to me that a broadcast affiliate covers such things and not a cable channel.

  2. habsfan9873 says:

    Its stupid, they should force there affiliates to show a live sporting event.

  3. nosferatu says:

    So glad to not be in the Cleveland market anymore–won’t have to miss playoff games because of the hapless Indians on NBC.

  4. tlas says:

    Well, I guess I’m lucky in that I’m in one of the few cities that has an NBC o&o station.

  5. kevin says:

    It was an NBC Sports retrospective…nothing to do with hockey…and if you are going to change start times blame the NHL

  6. It wasn’t just the retrospective, they didn’t cover the pre-game stuff that started around 2:30, they didn’t join NBC’s coverage until exactly 3:00.

    Luckily where I am in NC I can see WECT from Wilmington, so I at least got to see the pre-game stuff in SD.

Leave a Reply

