NHL Net Begins Memorial Cup Coverage on Saturday

NEW YORK (May 19, 2011) – For the fourth consecutive year, NHL

Network U.S. will showcase the best teams in Canadian major junior hockey

as they compete for a national championship title at the 2011 MasterCard

Memorial Cup tournament. NHL Network U.S will feature a combination of

live and tape delayed broadcasts throughout the 10 days of competition from

the tournament’s host city of Mississauga, Ontario.

Fans will have the opportunity to see the NHL’s future stars and 2011

draft picks as they take to the ice from May 19-29 at the Canadian Hockey

League’s pinnacle tournament. Those teams challenging for the 2011

MasterCard Memorial Cup include Western Hockey League (WHL) champion

Kootenay Ice, Ontario Hockey League (OHL) champion Owen Sound Attack and

Quebec Major Junior Hockey League (QMJHL) champion Saint John Sea Dogs,

plus the host team Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors (OHL).

NHL Network U.S. will air Rogers Sportsnet’s coverage of all

tournament games with the broadcast team of play-by-play man Peter

Loubardias, analyst Sam Cosentino and host Rob Faulds. All games will be

broadcast in high definition.

Tournament coverage will begin on Saturday, May 21, at 9:00 a.m. ET

with the re-broadcast of the previous night’s action between the Saint John

Sea Dogs and the host Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors. Saint John is led

by top-ranked prospects C Jonathan Huberdeau (No. 3 ranked) and D Nathan

Beaulieau (No. 5 ranked), two of nine Sea Dogs on NHL Central Scouting’s

final ranking list. Mississauga’s captain C Casey Cizikas, drafted 92nd by

the NY Islanders in 2009, will lead the Majors to their first Memorial Cup

appearance since 1961.

In the second game of Saturday’s double-header, NHL Network U.S. will

provide live coverage when the Owen Sound Attack take on the Kootenay Ice

at 7:00 p.m. ET. WHL Eastern Conference MVP and Kootenay center Cody Eakin

, drafted 85th by the Washington Capitals in 2009, will lead the Ice

against Owen Sound, which is coming off a big Game 7 win in the OHL

championship series. The Attack’s 17-year-old, draft-eligible goaltender

Jordan Binnington only allowed four goals on 70 shots over the last two

games of the series.

Additional live game coverage will be added to the NHL Network U.S.

schedule as the NHL’s Conference Finals series conclude. Fans are

encouraged to check the schedule at http://www.nhlnetwork.com for updates.

All of NHL Network’s live broadcasts will feature intermissions

originating from the NHL Network studio in Toronto. NHL Network will also

feature nightly Memorial Cup coverage on NHL On The Fly with tournament

news and notes and game analysis.

NHL.com also will have special coverage of the tournament in its

entirety with a team of reporters and videographers on-site to cover the

sights and sounds of the CHL’s best.

The 2011 MasterCard Memorial Cup tournament features 25 recently

drafted players from 20 NHL Clubs and 17 players eligible for the 2011 NHL

Entry Draft who have been ranked by NHL Central Scouting.

Kootenay Ice

Brayden McNabb BUF 66th in 2009

Cody Eakin WSH 85th in 2009

Max Reinhart CGY 64th in 2010

Joey Leach CGY 73rd in 2010

Drew Czerwonka EDM 166th in 2010

John Neibrandt 2011 eligible – ranked No. 170

Jagger Dirk 2011 eligible – ranked No. 188

Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors

Casey Cizikas NYI 92nd in 2009

Brett Flemming WSH 145th in 2009

Maxim Kitsyn LA 158th in 2009

Devante Smith-Pelly ANA 42nd in 2010

Justin Shugg CAR 105th in 2010

Rob Flick CHI 120th in 2010

Gregg Sutch BUF 143rd in 2010

Stuart Percy 2011 eligible – ranked No. 53

Joseph Cramarossa 2011 eligible – ranked No. 63

Dylan DeMelo 2011 eligible – ranked No. 121

Owen Sound Attack

Jesse Blacker TOR 58th in 2009

Garrett Wilson FLA 107th in 2009

Michael Zador TB 148th in 2009

Scott Stajcer NYR 140th in 2009

Joey Hishon COL 17th in 2010

Geoffrey Schemitsch TB 96th in 2010

Jordan Binnington 2011 eligible – ranked No. 3 Goalie

Andrew Fritsch 2011 eligible – ranked No. 84

Keevin Cutting 2011 eligible – ranked No. 87

Saint John Sea Dogs

Jacob DeSerres PHI 84th in 2008

Simon Després PIT 30th in 2009

Éric Gélinas NJ 54th in 2009

Steven Anthony VAN 187th in 2009

Stanislav Galiev WSH 86th in 2010

Mathieu Corbeil-Thériault CBJ 102nd in 2010

Stephen MacAulay STL 164th in 2010

Jonathan Huberdeau 2011 eligible – ranked No. 3

Nathan Beaulieu 2011 eligible – ranked No. 5

Zack Phillips 2011 eligible – ranked No. 15

Tomas Jurco 2011 eligible – ranked No. 20

Scott Oke 2011 eligible – ranked No. 44

Ryan Tesink 2011 eligible – ranked No. 47

Gabriel Bourret 2011 eligible – ranked No. 92

Aidan Kelly 2011 eligible – ranked No. 94

Jason Cameron 2011 eligible – ranked No. 124

2011 MasterCard Memorial Cup on NHL Network U.S. Schedule (all times


Date Game Time (ET)

Sat., May 21 Saint John vs. Mississauga 9:00 a.m. (tape delay from 5/20)

Owen Sound vs. Kootenay 7:00 p.m. (LIVE)

Sun., May 22 Mississauga vs. Kootenay 7:00 p.m. (LIVE)

Tues., May 24 Owen Sound vs. Saint John

12:00 p.m. (tape delay from 5/23)

Wed., May 25 Kootenay vs. Saint John 12:00 p.m. (tape delay from 5/24)

Thurs., May 26 Mississauga vs. Owen Sound

12:00 p.m. (tape delay from 5/25)

Fri., May 27 Tie-Breaker (if necessary) 12:00 p.m. (tape delay from 5/26)

Sat., May 28 Semi-Final 1:00 p.m. (tape delay from 5/27)

Sun., May 29 Championship Game 7:00 p.m. (LIVE)


About Steve Lepore
Contact me at stevemlepore@gmail.com

One Response to NHL Net Begins Memorial Cup Coverage on Saturday

  1. leafsfan1967 says:

    Why all the tape delay games? It would be nice if they showed them live and then did repeats if they wanted to….

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: