Jay Mohr Returns to the NHL Awards

NEW YORK (May 9, 2011) – Actor, writer and comedian Jay Mohr will

return to Las Vegas in June to host the 2011 NHL Awards and honor the

National Hockey League’s biggest stars for the second straight year. The

best hockey players in the world will come together with Mohr and

celebrities from music, stage and screen for the 2011 NHL Awards on

Wednesday, June 22, at the Pearl Concert Theater inside the Palms Hotel in

Las Vegas (7pm ET, VERSUS in the U.S. and CBC in Canada). Tickets to the

2011 NHL Awards™ are on sale now.

The multi-talented Mohr’s career has spanned three decades. He has

appeared in more than 25 films, beginning with his breakthrough role as a

rival sports agent in the blockbuster hit Jerry Maguire and most recently

in the Warner Brothers thriller Hereafter opposite Matt Damon and directed

by Clint Eastwood. A well-known stand-up comedian and featured player on

the 1993-94 and 1994-95 seasons of Saturday Night Live, Mohr’s small screen

credits include his starring role in the CBS show Gary Unmarried and the

long-running NBC series Last Comic Standing, which he also created and

executive produced. Mohr is an avid sports fan and frequent sports show


“I am really excited to return to Las Vegas for the 2011 NHL Awards

in June,” said Mohr. “I had a great time hosting the event last year and

look forward to celebrating this season’s top hockey performances – and the

chance to poke a little fun, too.”

Dave Broome will bring his creative vision to the show for the second

straight year as Executive Producer of the 2011 NHL Awards. “It’s an honor

to be asked back to produce this year’s NHL Awards show,” said Broome.

“Last year’s show was truly a fun celebration of hockey and I’m looking

forward to continuing that vision even further this year. I think the

audience is really going to be excited for what we have in store for them.”

At the close of the 2010-11 NHL® regular season in April, three

members of the Vancouver Canucks, who helped their club capture the

Presidents’ Trophy for posting the NHL’s best record, added individual

awards to their collection. Left wing Daniel Sedin won his first career Art

Ross Trophy as NHL scoring leader, while Roberto Luongo and Cory Schneider

earned the William Jennings Trophy as the goaltenders on the club allowing

the fewest goals. Anaheim Ducks right wing Corey Perry captured the

Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy as the League’s goal-scoring leader. The

four trophy winners will be honored at the 2011 NHL Awards.

NHL Awards finalists for individual honors to be presented at the 2011

NHL Awards include:

· Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy for perseverance, sportsmanship and

dedication to hockey – Ray Emery (Anaheim Ducks), Daymond Langkow

(Calgary Flames), and Ian Laperriere (Philadelphia Flyers)

· Calder Trophy for outstanding rookie honors – Logan Couture (San Jose

Sharks), Michael Grabner (New York Islanders), and Jeff Skinner

(Carolina Hurricanes)

· Frank J. Selke Trophy for outstanding defensive forward – Pavel

Datsyuk (Detroit Red Wings), Ryan Kesler (Vancouver Canucks), and

Jonathan Toews (Chicago Blackhawks)

· General Manager of the Year – Mike Gillis (Vancouver Canucks), David

Poile (Nashville Predators), and Steve Yzerman (Tampa Bay Lightning)

· Hart Memorial Trophy for most valuable player to his team – Corey

Perry (Anaheim Ducks), Daniel Sedin (Vancouver Canucks), and Martin

St. Louis (Tampa Bay Lightning)

· Jack Adams Award for outstanding coach – Dan Bylsma (Pittsburgh

Penguins), Barry Trotz (Nashville Predators), and Alain Vigneault

(Vancouver Canucks)

· James Norris Memorial Trophy for outstanding all-around defenseman

– Zdeno Chara (Boston Bruins), Nicklas Lidstrom (Detroit Red Wings),

and Shea Weber (Nashville Predators)

· Lady Byng Memorial Trophy for sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct –

Loui Eriksson (Dallas Stars), Nicklas Lidstrom (Detroit Red Wings),

and Martin St. Louis (Tampa Bay Lightning)

· NHL Foundation Player Award for charitable and community work –

Dustin Brown (Los Angeles Kings), Mike Green (Washington Capitals),

and Daniel & Henrik Sedin ( Vancouver Canucks)

· Ted Lindsay Award to the most outstanding player in the NHL as voted

by fellow members of the NHLPA – Corey Perry (Anaheim Ducks), Daniel

Sedin (Vancouver Canucks), and Steven Stamkos (Tampa Bay Lightning)

· Vezina Trophy for outstanding goaltender – Roberto Luongo (Vancouver

Canucks), Pekka Rinne (Nashville Predators), and Tim Thomas (Boston


The Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award presented by Bridgestone

(superior leader in hockey and a contributing member of society) and the

King Clancy Memorial Trophy presented by U.S. Army (for leadership and

humanitarian contribution) also will be awarded; finalists for the Mark

Messier NHL Leadership Award presented by Bridgestone will be announced

during Game 3 of the 2011 NHL Stanley Cup Final.


About Steve Lepore
Contact me at stevemlepore@gmail.com

2 Responses to Jay Mohr Returns to the NHL Awards

  1. Arthur says:

    Lepore, Please ffigure out a way to condense these posts. They take up way too much space and push more important posts way down or off the page.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: