Your Announcers and Open Thread For Day 25 of the 2011 Stanley Cup Playoffs

Nashville vs. Vancouver, Game 5, 8:00 p.m. ET

National TV (Canada): CBC
Play by Play: Jim Hughson
Color: Craig Simpson
Inside the Glass: Glenn Healy
Reporter: Scott Oake

National TV (US): VERSUS
Play by Play:
Dave Strader
Inside the Glass: Joe Micheletti

About Steve Lepore
Contact me at stevemlepore@gmail.com

13 Responses to Your Announcers and Open Thread For Day 25 of the 2011 Stanley Cup Playoffs

  1. Kevin says:

    So, I am guessing that either John Forslund or Doc Emrick is going to call the game tomorrow. Hoping for Doc.

  2. TonySCV says:

    I’ll take Dave Strader over Jim Hughson anytime. One of the few times I’m happy that I have the Versus feed instead of CBC. Hughson’s style has worn thin on me over time.

    • Kevin says:

      I think Strader is underrated. He does the Coyotes games, so not many people hear him out there. I remember Jim Hughson from the Triple Play baseball video games in the late 90s.

  3. Jack says:

    I like Hughson…when he’s not calling Vancouver games.; I really don;t like his open bias for the Canucks.

  4. GGR says:

    I prefer the Versus feed to CBC’s, and I live in Canada. CBC has the annoying habit of taking the score clock off the screen immediately after a whistle — drives me nuts — and it doesn’t put 4-on-4 times on the score clock. While Hughson isn’t a bad announcer, all the HNIC guys are rooting for Vancouver. It’s so pathetic.

  5. Wade says:

    I wonder if Versus will go the route ESPN did with their hockey coverage in the mid 90’s-2004 (reason I’m mentioning these years is because this is when I started watching hockey) and have most of their announcers be NBC/Versus guys and NOT cover a local team. I can’t see Olczyk leaving the local Blackhawks games, but I can see both Dave Strader and Darren Pang leaving their local coverage. When they both worked for ABC/ESPN, they were not doing local broadcasts like they are now. I remember ABC/ESPN having the following (before John Davidson joined the top crew), #1 Gary Thorne/Bill Clement, #2 Steve Levy/Darren Pang, #3 (Only ABC games) Mike Emrick/Barry Melrose, #3 ESPN/#4 ABC Dave Strader/Brian Engblom, #4/#5 ESPN Jack Edwards/Jim Schoenfeld, #4/#5 ESPN Dave Ryan/Joe Micheletti or Neil Smith or Tony Twist or Eddie Olczyk. Other PBP guys used were Sean McDonough, JP Dellacamera, Joe Beninati, John Forslund (only playoffs) I even remember Dwayne Roloson years ago doing some playoff games as an in game analyst for ESPN, which is funny to see now considering how well he is still playing. My point is that all of those guys, at least I believe so, besides John Davidson and Mike Emrick were only broadcasting games for ABC/ESPN, except sometimes in the playoffs using guys like Forslund and Beninati. I don’t like how Versus often uses local broadcasters for a national game, ex. if NYR are playing in Boston on an exclusive Monday night Versus game, they’ll go the route of using Sam Rosen (local NYR PBP) and Andy Brickley (local BOS analyst). They do stuff like this a lot and that is really my only beef with Versus’s coverage. If they can get Dave Strader and Darren Pang to be part of the NBCsports/Versus team and not have local coverage obligations, they can up their coverage a lot. Rumors are that Doc Emrick may not be returning to MSG+ to do Devils games. If so, that works perfect for Versus. He can do a game a week for them. Versus can establish a top 2 broadcast team like ABC/ESPN had with Thorne/Clement and Levy/Pang, but do it with Emrick, Olczyk; McGuire (Inside the Glass) (Playoffs since Olczyk and Pierre won’t leave CHI and TSN) and number 2 crew of Strader, Engblom; Pang (Inside the Glass). I know I’m kind of ranting here haha. What do you think they should do?

    • nosferatu says:

      Well, I guess the question is whether or not NBC would ante up the money to make it worth the while for these guys to leave their local broadcast teams. Not sure I see that happening.

      • nosferatu says:

        Not to mention that with the added games on the schedule for next season–way more, I believe, than ESPN televised most of those years–it’s harder to have multiple broadcasters who are independent of local clubs.

      • Dave Sullivan says:

        ESPN, ESPN2, & ABC peaked at 129 regular season games in 1999-2000. Once they acquired the NBA, that number dropped to 72 games. They were talking about 40 games in 2004-05. ESPN really checked out on the regular season. But to their credit, they only had their crews covering playoff games. They never picked up anyone else’s feed unless there was a technical SNAFU. Getting the NBA was a watershed in ESPN’s history. The whole culture of the network seemed to change at that point. It made them bolder, I think, but also cockier. I certainly liked the old ESPN a lot more.

    • I think they should try to use Ray Ferraro a bit more. I think Strader might consider becoming Versus exclusive if the Coyotes move to Winnipeg. Personally I don’t have a problem with guys doing local and national broadcasts. NBC (i.e. Versus from February on) seems to avoid have local guys do their team’s game, except for Edzo. There were times where Carolina, for example, played and Forslund didn’t do the game late in the season. In fact, they flew Strader in from Phoenix to be a last minute replacement for Gord Miller on a Tampa Bay game, instead of going with Peckham. I think Versus should use this pecking order and otherwise stay status quo for next season

      PxP
      1. Emrick, 2. Strader, 3. Albert, 4. Daniels, 5. Forslund, 6. Miller, 7. Peckham

      Analyst
      1. Edzo, 2. Reaugh, 3. Micheletti, 4. Eliot, 5. Brickley 6. Ferraro

      Inside the Glass
      Monday – McGuire
      Rest of Week – Engblom, Eliot, Micheletti or Ferraro

      I don’t think Versus will have any trouble finding people to work their games. Most of the guys they have are good (personally not a fan of Micheletti), so I don’t see any issue.

      I certainly could see Doc joining Versus/NBC full time doing games on Sunday/Tuesday/Thursday or something like that.

    • Kevin says:

      It would be a good idea.

Leave a Reply

