The NHL Network Awaits the Frenzy

NEW YORK, NY (June 29, 2010) – When the National Hockey League’s annual race to sign veteran talent commences on July 1, fans in the United States will be able to keep up with all the moves of free agency on NHL Network™ and

American hockey fans can watch TSN’s Free Agent Frenzy show on NHL Network and streamed live on to follow all the signings and rumors during one of the most exciting days on the League’s calendar. The NHL on TSN: Free Agent Frenzy will be broadcast on NHL Network and streamed on from 2-6 p.m. ET on Thursday, July 1.

Before throwing it to TSN in Toronto, NHL Network and will carry NHL Live! The League’s daily satellite radio call-in show on Sirius XM, that is simulcast on NHL Network and streamed live on each weekday from noon-2 p.m. ET, will be hosted by Don La Greca and E.J. Hradek live from the NHL Powered by Reebok store in Manhattan. NHL commissioner Gary Bettman will join Don and E.J. in studio as a special guest as the free-agency signing period officially begins at noon ET.


NHL Net Does Raising the Cup

NEW YORK (June 29, 2010) – One of the sporting world’s oldest and most distinguished trophies — The Stanley Cup — will be presented each weeknight beginning on Monday, July 5, on NHL Network™ U.S., the National Hockey League announced today. As a part of its summer programming line-up, the NHL Network will present 35 years of Stanley Cup Clinchers so fans can relive all the heroics, heartbreaking moments and magical memories.

Raising the Cup: 35 Years of Stanley Cup Clinchers 1975-2010, will air at 8:00 p.m. ET each weeknight through August 27. Stanley Cup Final clinching games will be shown in their entirety, including the full Stanley Cup presentations and post-game celebrations.

The Philadelphia Flyers have secured both first and last acts – one of exhilaration and one of disappointment — in this series that chronicles the pursuit of hockey’s holy grail. The Raising the Cup: 35 Years of Stanley Cup Clinchers series begins in 1975 as two modern-era expansion teams, the Flyers and Buffalo Sabres, meet for the first time in the Stanley Cup Final. The Flyers win the series in six games. Flash ahead 35-years to 2010 when the newly crowned Stanley Cup Champion Chicago Blackhawks beat the Flyers in six games to capture their first Cup in nearly 50 years.

Throughout 35 years of clinchers, fans will have the opportunity to experience again the dynasties of the 1970s (Montreal Canadiens), 1980s (New York Islanders and Edmonton Oilers) and 1990s (Pittsburgh Penguins and Detroit Red Wings). The Raising the Cup series will take viewers on an emotional roller coaster ride of Game 7 overtimes, surprising contenders and historic ends to franchise droughts. From the tears of veteran players winning their first Stanley Cup in their last season to stellar rookie performances to the drive to defend the hardest trophy to win, this collection of Stanley Cup clinching games has something for everyone.

Fans also will have the opportunity to vote for their favorite game from each decade by logging onto throughout the month. Top vote-getting games will receive encore presentations from August 23-27.

Raising the Cup: 35 Years of Stanley Cup Clinchers 1975-2010 Schedule

Day Year Visitor Home Game #

Monday, July 5 1975 Philadelphia Buffalo 6

Tuesday, July 6 1976 Montreal Philadelphia 4

Wednesday, July 7 1977 Montreal Boston 4

Thursday, July 8 1978 Montreal Boston 6

Friday, July 9 1979 NY Rangers Montreal 5

Monday, July 12 1980 Philadelphia NY Islanders 6

Tuesday, July 13 1981 Minnesota NY Islanders 5

Wednesday, July 14 1982 NY Islanders Vancouver 4

Thursday, July 15 1983 Edmonton NY Islanders 4

Friday, July 16 1984 NY Islanders Edmonton 5

Monday, July 19 1985 Philadelphia Edmonton 5

Tuesday, July 20 1986 Montreal Calgary 5

Wednesday, July 21 1987 Philadelphia Edmonton 7

Thursday, July 22 1988 Boston Edmonton 4

Friday, July 23 1989 Calgary Montreal 6

Monday, July 26 1990 Edmonton Boston 5

Tuesday, July 27 1991 Pittsburgh Minnesota 6

Wednesday, July 28 1992 Pittsburgh Chicago 4

Thursday, July 29 1993 Los Angeles Montreal 5

Friday, July 30 1994 Vancouver NY Rangers 7

Monday, Aug. 2 1995 Detroit New Jersey 4

Tuesday, Aug. 3 1996 Colorado Florida 4

Wednesday, Aug. 4 1997 Philadelphia Detroit 4

Thursday, Aug. 5 1998 Detroit Washington 4

Friday, Aug. 6 1999 Dallas Buffalo 6

Monday, Aug. 9 2000 New Jersey Dallas 6

Tuesday, Aug. 10 2001 New Jersey Colorado 7

Wednesday, Aug. 11 2002 Carolina Detroit 5

Thursday, Aug. 12 2003 Anaheim New Jersey 7

Friday, Aug. 13 2004 Calgary Tampa Bay 7

Monday, Aug. 16 2006 Edmonton Carolina 7

Tuesday, Aug. 17 2007 Ottawa Anaheim 5

Wednesday, Aug. 18 2008 Detroit Pittsburgh 6

Thursday, Aug. 19 2009 Pittsburgh Detroit 7

Friday, Aug. 20 2010 Chicago Philadelphia 6

Monday, Aug. 23 Fans’ Choice Encore #1

Tuesday, Aug. 24 Fans’ Choice Encore #2

Wednesday, Aug. 25 Fans’ Choice Encore #3

Thursday, Aug. 26 Fans’ Choice Encore #4

Friday, Aug. 27 Fans’ Choice Encore #5