Your NHL Awards Nitpick/Open Thread

NHL Awards, 7:30 PM ET
National TV (US):
National TV (Canada): CBC (HD, will not air until 8:30)
Host: Jay Mohr

Jay Mohr Defends Himself as a Hockey Fan on NHL Live

After having his hockey cred called into question, Jay Mohr defended himself yesterday on NHL Live.

When asked about the “controversy”, Mohr said “… I like hockey. I just can’t play it. And hockey players are really handsome and athletic and they can fight. Three qualities I don’t have. So I’ve always been very jealous.”  He seemed apt to wanting to do it again if it goes well, adding “The trick is, you gotta get invited back”.  In fact, Don LaGreca managed to probably embarrass himself more than, er, Mohr by asking him about his cancelled television show Gary Unmarried.

Mohr hosts the NHL Awards tonight at 7:30 PM ET on VERSUS.


NHLPA Approves Heritage Classic, So Drake Can Go Home For It

NEW YORK (June 22, 2010) The National Hockey League confirmed today that the Calgary Flames will host the Montreal Canadiens in the Heritage Classic at McMahon Stadium on February 20. Further details on the game will be announced at a later date. to Air Awards Show Red Carpet Tonight

LAS VEGAS — NHL stars and nominees Sidney Crosby, Alex Ovechkin, Martin Brodeur, Mike Green, Duncan Keith, Ryan Kesler, Ryan Miller, Drew Doughty and many more will walk the red carpet and be on hand Wednesday beginning at 5 p.m. ET, 2 p.m. PT prior to the NHL Awards Show at The Palms heater at The Palms Hotel.

Be sure to check out all the fun at (6:30 p.m. ET). The NHL Awards Show will be broadcast at 7:30 p.m. ET on VERSUS in the United States and at 8:30 p.m. on CBC in Canada (9 p.m. in Newfoundland).

Also joining in will be three members of the Stanley Cup Champion Chicago Blackhawks, Jonathan Toews, Patrick Kane and Patrick Sharp.

Florida rockers Shinedown and cast members from Cirque du Soleil’s Beatles LOVE will walk the red carpet before they get set to perform during the star-studded show.

Jamie Iovine, also known as DJ EYE, who will be spinning at the 2010 NHL Awards, and Hey Rosetta!, performing at the NHL Awards party, will also walk the red carpet. Host Jay Mohr, with his wife, actress Nikki Cox, and celebrity presenters including actors Mark Wahlberg, John Slattery, Jamie Kennedy, Kevin Zegers, D.B. Sweeney, Natasha Henstridge, Michael Rosenbaum and Leven Rambin; legendary Hollywood producer Jerry Bruckheimer; George Stroumboulopoulos, host of CBC’s “The Hour”; Reese Waters, co-host of “The Daily Line” on VERSUS; Miss Nevada 2010 Julianna Erdesz; and NHL greats past and present Guy Lafleur, Eddie Olczyk, Luc Robitaille, Jeremy Roenick and many more also will walk the red carpet.