How Doc Emrick Found Hockey

From Rich Chere of the Star-Ledger:

Like the entire state of Indiana, the tiny town of Lafontaine (pop. 627), was all about basketball when Mike Emrick was growing up there in the 1950s.

A farming community some 45 miles southwest of Fort Wayne, a hockey hotbed it wasn’t.

“But when I was in fifth grade my parents took me to a hockey game in Fort Wayne to see the Komets,” Emrick said. “That was the night I got hooked.”

Just one look. That’s all it took.

About Steve Lepore
Contact me at

One Response to How Doc Emrick Found Hockey

  1. Alex says:

    When I was 5 watching it on TV I was absolutely glued. I thought the ice & jerseys looked like eye candy (even for 80s bad quality).

    I never saw anything in any other sport.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

