CBC Prepares for the NHL Awards

Armani and Gucci will replace shoulder pads and skates when the NHL’s brightest stars clean up and head to Las Vegas, on Thursday, June 18, for the 2009 NHL Awards. It will be a full-house as the world’s hockey elite descend upon The Pearl Concert Theatre inside the Palms Hotel for the awards show, airing on CBC Television, at 8:30 p.m. / 9 p.m. NT in High-Definition. The broadcast will also be available live, beginning at 7:30 p.m. ET, on CBCSports.ca.


Taking centre stage during the show will be performances from award-winning multi-platinum recording artist Robin Thicke, Grammy-winning singer-songwriter Chaka Khan and the NHL Awards house band, led by Saturday Night Live band leader Katreese Barnes. The legendary Stanley Cup, the oldest trophy in professional sports, will also make a guest appearance along with members of the 2009 Stanley Cup Champions.


The 2009 NHL Awards also sports a cavalcade of celebrities in attendance, including hip-hop superstar Snoop Dogg, crooner Michael Bublé, William Fichtner (Prison BreakBlades of Glory), Tricia Helfer (Battlestar GalaticaBurn Notice) and Colin Ferguson (Eureka). 


CBC’S HOCKEY NIGHT IN CANADA’s Kelly Hrudey will be on hand to pass out the hardware, along with Pat Burns, Tony Esposito, Sergei Fedorov, Doug Gilmour, Pat LaFontaine, Igor Larionov, Brian Leetch, Reggie Lemelin, Mark Messier, Stan Mikita, Andy Moog, Glenn Anderson, Jarome Iginla, Luc Robitaille and Jeremy Roenick.


Rounding out the 2009 NHL Awards’ exciting lineup are the ultimate stars of the night—the NHL players. Hart Memorial Trophy finalists Alex Ovechkin, Evgeni Malkin and Pavel Datsyuk, along with Norris Trophy finalists Nicklas Lidstrom, Zdeno Chara, Mike Green and Vezina Trophy finalists Tim Thomas, Chris Mason and Niklas Backstrom will be among the hockey royalty in attendance. 


The eight awards to be presented during the 90-minute broadcast include the Calder Memorial Trophy (Outstanding Rookie), Frank J. Selke Trophy (Outstanding Defensive Forward), Hart Memorial Trophy (Most Valuable Player to His Team), Jack Adams Award (Outstanding Coach), James Norris Memorial Trophy (Outstanding Defenseman), Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (Sportsmanship and Gentlemanly Conduct), Lester B. Pearson Award (Most Outstanding Player as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA) and Vezina Trophy (Outstanding Goaltender). 


All voting for the 2009 NHL Awards was conducted at the conclusion of the 2008-09 regular season. The Professional Hockey Writers’ Association votes for five trophies (Hart, Norris, Selke, Calder and Lady Byng), the NHL Broadcasters’ Association selects the Jack Adams Award recipient, NHL General Managers vote on the Vezina Trophy and the NHLPA votes for the Lester B. Pearson Award. 


4 Responses to CBC Prepares for the NHL Awards

  1. johnw says:

    No Alan Thicke?

  2. Josh says:

    Am I missing something, or is there no host for this thing?

  3. Danimal says:

    I’d assume it’s still Ron MacLean hosting and Versus televising on the same tape delay as CBC…

  4. Angel says:

    Terrible awards show!!!!!
    Terrible, terrible, terrible!
    Jeremy cannot read….
    Entertainment was extremely disappointing…….and did not fit the audience.
    1/2 the presenters couldn’t pronounce the names of nominees correctly and I’m pretty sure they were not true hockey fans.
    Should be called ‘Retired NHL & Current Russian Players Awards”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: