Something I Saw While Watching Hockey Last Night…

I was resigned to the MSG Buffalo feed of the Sabres-Devils game last night.  At the start, I noticed legendary Sabres play-by-play man Rick Jeanneret wasn’t calling the game.  Immediately, I had a feeling of “well, what’s the point of watching the Sabres, then?”.  Steve Kouleas of The Score was calling the game with Harry Neale and Rob Ray.

I’ll say this though, Kouleas did a very good job substituting for one of hockey’s most recognizable voices.

Now that I’m watching more Game Center Live and more hockey in general, I’m going to try and post more thoughts from things I noticed during local TV broadcasts around the league.  Perhaps eventually even doing a “Better Know a Broadcast” feature.  We shall see.

About stevelepore
Steve Lepore is the Managing Editor of Puck the Media. His work has been featured in The Hockey News. Feel free to contact him at stevemlepore@gmail.com

4 Responses to Something I Saw While Watching Hockey Last Night…

  1. leafsfan1967 says:

    Is Rick Jeanneret unwell or has he retired? I hope the answer to both these questions is no.

  2. Marty says:

    Rick’s on vacation in Florida.

  3. Kevin says:

    Holy crap, a non-Sabre fan not saying Rick sucks.

  4. Eric says:

    I believe that Jeanneret has a contractual clause allowing him to take an in-season vacation.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

